Follow up with the Steam Turbine clone

IMG_00001163

When I first reviewed the Steam Turbine clone a couple of days ago, the biggest issue that I faced was the stock stacked vent holes being too small. After spending a few days sitting in my vape bag I took out my jewelers file kit and went to town on the vent holes.

Turns out that venting wasn’t the only problem with the Steam Tubine clone…

Story continues after the jump.

IMG_00001169First things first, I pulled out the flat file and started filing at the burrs that were left from the factory drilling. After a good bit of filing, I was quite happy with how much I managed to remove. Taking a quick draw, I felt that airflow was improved marginally. Remember, the chamber on the Steam Turbine clone is tiny, so any impedance – such as the burrs – will affect airflow in one way or another.

IMG_00001159

The next step was to take out the needle file and get to work on making the actual vent holes larger. This took quite a bit of time and elbow grease, because the top cap of the Steam Turbine clone is built from rather sturdy stainless steel.

I started by inserting the file and turning the it for a good 5 to 10 minutes. This helped to enlarge the hole a little. As the hole got bigger, I then started filing it from all angles. Remember, if you file it too much in one direction then you’ll end up with an oval hole instead of a round one!

IMG_00001162Popping the top cap back on, I gave it a couple of drags and was pretty pleased with the results. I’m estimating the vent holes to be under 0.8mm each in diameter, which could still be a little bit too tight for some of you.

Pleased with the pull, I continued to chain vape while at the PC… until I smelt burning rubber / plastic.

Now, I knew that the chamber on the Steam Turbine clone was small, and I knew that the top cap got really hot when chain vaping. I use a G-Bell as my full time genny tank, so I’m no stranger to small chambers heating up quickly. It’s exactly because of this reason I switch over my delrin Tru Flow from the G-Bell to the Steam Turbine clone.

IMG_00001166

Turns out though that the top cap of the Steam Turbine clone gets way hotter than the G-Bell, because that burning plastic smell was actually coming from the drip tip melting!

I had already lost one Tru Flow drip tip in the past month, and wasn’t in the mood to lose another so I promptly yanked it out and let it cool down. This never happened on the G-Bell no matter how hard I chained (and trust me, I can chain very hard), so I’m guessing that the combination of cheaper grade stainless steel, the small chamber and the proximity of the positive pole on the Steam Turbine clone would force you to use a ceramic drip tip.

Remember, this build is a single coil 28AWG kanthal on five wraps, and not some extreme sub-ohm build. In hindsight, the original Steam Turbine is famous for shining with dual-coil setups and for producing warm vapor, not burning hot like what you get with the clone.

I am planning to give this Steam Turbine clone away for free to one of my readers, but I haven’t decided on how I’ll do that yet. If you’re interested in getting your hands on this atty then remember to follow the blog or join the newly setup Facebook group to find out how!

Leave a Reply

