2016 and beyond

beast-blog

If I had a dollar for every time I restarted this blog or posted a promise that “I’m back”, then I’d be swimming in enough money to buy every single mod I’ve ever dreamed of owning by now.

It’s true. I’ve posted something like this before. Probably a few years or months ago. And I probably never followed up.

I guess that’s what life does. It giveth and it taketh – time, attention and commitment.

But this time around, something has happened. Something that has changed my perspective on life. Something that has reaffirmed my decision to quit smoking and walk down this prickly path that is vaping. Something that has made me realize, now more than ever, that vaping – the industry as a whole – needs a voice.

While my motivations may sound selfish, I can assure you that with lack of a better word, it is 100% sincere.

He was a 3-pack a day smoker for the better part of 50 years, so the truth is, this diagnosis isn’t all that surprising. It could have been a sooner or later thing. It could all be a tragic act of cosmic intervention.

My father has recently been diagnosed with cancer. He was a 3-pack a day smoker for the better part of 50 years, so the truth is, this diagnosis isn’t all that surprising. It could have been a sooner or later thing. It could all be a tragic act of cosmic intervention. But whatever it is, it’s here and it is devastating to me as a son.

One one hand, the thought that my father’s mortality hangs in the balance because of a bad habit has me regretting every single cigarette I ever smoked. On the other hand, my constant procrastination on acting on his requests for me to get him a starter kit – since I, his own son, was such a big advocate of vaping – has been chewing away at me for the better part of a week.

Why didn’t I do it sooner? Why didn’t I sit him down and walk him through the simple process of rewicking. Why did I feel that was such a chore, that wasn’t worth my immediate attention?

I don’t know. But I regret every second of it.

But enough wallowing and self-pity for now. It’s time to do something. Something real.

atvuwr9e

#fuckcancer #letsgetvaping

Leave a Reply

